Vivian Kelly ’25 wins varsity cross country D.C. State Championship

Maria Farren ’25

Alina Calix-Martinez ’25

The 2022 D.C. Cross Country State Championship on November 5 hosted fierce competition for the Visitation cross country team, but also an opportunity for Visi’s runners to challenge themselves. Vivian Kelly ‘25 blew the competition away in the women’s varsity 5k, winning with a time of 20:12. “I was very surprised,” Kelly said. “There was a lot of tough competition, especially from St. John’s, so I wanted to run well.” 

The intensity of the competition became new motivation, even in the uncharacteristically-warm eighty-degree heat. Kelly says her motivation came from her goal-oriented mindset. “I just wanted to beat my time from last year and give it my all, whatever place that meant,” she said. 

“I knew I had done well, but winning the race was a surprise. I just didn’t expect it,” she said on finding out about her win post-race. Her focused attitude shone through for a stellar race. 

Even in the last mile, Kelly remained committed to her goals. “My third mile is usually not my strongest, and I wanted to change that,” she added. That last mile ended up winning Kelly the race. She was able to stay focused, maintain her incredible time, and push through — leading her to a victory.

Leave a comment